Category: Drilling & Driving

Cordless drills, impact drivers, hammer drills and rotary hammers: which one you need and the best picks.

  • How to Drill Tile Without Cracking It: The Right Bit, Speed and Setup

    How to Drill Tile Without Cracking It: The Right Bit, Speed and Setup

    This article contains affiliate links. Learn more. As an Amazon Associate, Atelier Malin earns from qualifying purchases, at no extra cost to you. Our verdicts are not for sale.

    🗓️ Prices checked on October 27, 2026. They move often: check them again before you order.

    Written by Julien · Reviewed by Nadia on 10/27/2026 (prices, links and availability checked) — our editorial pen names

    THE SHORT ANSWER

    The tile decides, not your budget

    The short answer: for ceramic wall tile or glazed floor tile, a carbide spear-point bit is all you need: the Bosch GT2000 4-piece glass and tile set is $19.99 on Amazon.com (checked October 27, 2026), rated 4.3/5 from 4,969 ratings. For porcelain, only a diamond bit will do. Either way: hammer mode off, low gear, under 1,000 rpm.

    See the Bosch GT2000 set on Amazon →

    Three tiles, two bits: the only question to settle

    You don’t really drill a tile, you grind through it. So the bit has to be harder than the tile, and hardness varies a lot from one tile to the next. Bosch rates tile hardness on a 1-to-10 scratch scale and says that any tile at 6 or above needs a diamond bit; dense porcelain can reach 8, while diamond itself sits at 10. This guide is part of our Drilling & Driving section.

    In practice, you’re facing one of three cases. Ceramic wall tile: porous body under a thin glaze. Glazed ceramic floor tile: red or beige body with a thicker glaze. Porcelain tile: dense, the same color all the way through on many through-body tiles. The first two take a carbide spear-point bit. The third demands diamond, no exceptions.

    TileWhere you find itHardness (1 to 10)Bit to use
    Ceramic wall tileBathroom and kitchen walls, backsplashes3 to 4Carbide spear point
    Glazed ceramic floor tileFloors, thicker glaze3 to 4Carbide spear point
    Porcelain tileFloors and walls, dense bodyup to 8Diamond

    In every case: hammer mode off, low gear (under 1,000 rpm), and cool with water.

    There’s a fourth option many people try first, and it’s usually the wrong one: the regular masonry bit from the drawer. Its blunt carbide tip is made to pound concrete, not to score glaze: on a slick tile it skates, and once it bites it tends to chip the edge of the hole. Bosch only places it in the middle of its hardness scale. A spear-point tile bit costs a few dollars more and starts exactly where you mark.

    The bits worth knowing, and which tile they’re for

    Prices, average ratings, rating counts and availability checked on Amazon.com listings on October 27, 2026.

    ProductPrice (Oct 27, 2026)Amazon.com ratingFor
    Bosch GT2000 4-pc glass & tile set$19.99 (list $34.99)4.3/5 (4,969 ratings)Our pick ✅: ceramic wall and floor tile
    DKIBBITH 10-pc dry diamond bit set$17.994.3/5 (2,300 ratings)Porcelain, 3/16 to 1/2 in.
    ZNXIMER 11-pc diamond hole saw kit$33.49 (list $66.99)4.6/5 (196 ratings)Big holes, 1/4 to 2-1/2 in.
    THINKWORK diamond kit with suction-cup guide$33.994.3/5 (195 ratings)Beginners who fear skating
    Franklin Sensors ProSensor M210$59.974.6/5 (6,608 ratings)Before you drill: studs and live wires
    The default choice

    Bosch GT2000 4-pc Glass & Tile Bit Set

    $19.99

    4.3/5 · 4,969 ratings · in stock (checked October 27, 2026)

    carbide spear-point tip · reinforced head · three-flat shank · 4 common sizes

    Good to know: this is the bit for wall tile and glazed ceramic. The precision-ground point stops it from walking on the glaze. On porcelain it will glaze over and heat up: that’s not a defect, it’s simply outside its range.

    Check the price on Amazon →
    For porcelain

    DKIBBITH 10-pc Dry Diamond Drill Bit Set

    $17.99

    4.3/5 · 2,300 ratings · in stock (checked October 27, 2026)

    vacuum-brazed diamond · wax coolant inside · 3/16 in. (×2), 1/4 in. (×5), 5/16, 3/8, 1/2 in. · round shank

    Good to know: about $1.80 a bit, with extra 1/4-inch bits for the size you’ll use most. A diamond bit doesn’t start in a center-punch dimple: begin at an angle, then bring the drill upright.

    Check the price on Amazon →
    For big holes

    ZNXIMER 11-pc Diamond Hole Saw Kit

    $33.49

    4.6/5 · 196 ratings · in stock (checked October 27, 2026)

    vacuum-brazed diamond · 1/4 to 2-1/2 in. · hex shank for any drill · water sponge and core ejection spring

    Good to know: the best-rated product here, half off its $66.99 list price. It’s the kit for faucet, shower valve and drain openings; overkill if you only ever drill 1/4-inch holes for anchors.

    Check the price on Amazon →
    So the bit doesn’t skate

    THINKWORK Diamond Kit with Suction-Cup Guide

    $33.99

    4.3/5 · 195 ratings · in stock (checked October 27, 2026)

    double suction-cup guide (fits holes from about 3/16 to 3-1/4 in.) · 10 brazed diamond bits, 1/4 to 2 in.

    Good to know: the guide solves the real beginner problem, the bit wandering across the glaze. Its rating rests on fewer ratings than the Bosch set: buy it for the guide, which locks the bit exactly on your mark.

    Check the price on Amazon →
    Before you drill

    Franklin Sensors ProSensor M210

    $59.97

    4.6/5 · 6,608 ratings · in stock (checked October 27, 2026)

    13 sensors · wood and metal studs up to 1.7 in. deep · live wire detection · built-in level

    Good to know: it doesn’t make the hole, but it decides where you make it. Bathrooms and kitchens hide wiring behind the tile, and a cracked tile is cheaper than a nicked cable. Finding the stud also tells you where a heavy shelf will really hold.

    Check the price on Amazon →

    If what you’re missing is the drill rather than the bit, our best cordless drill guide covers the models, and our best SDS-plus rotary hammer guide covers the next step: the concrete or block wall behind the tile. Not sure which of the two you need? Read hammer drill vs. rotary hammer.

    The Atelier Malin mascotHow we chooseWe start from the tile, never from the price tier. We only keep a feature if the manufacturer lists it. And we tell you when an average rating rests on too few ratings to settle the question.

    The number nobody gives you: 1,000 rpm

    Read the tile tutorials and one point comes up everywhere without ever being put into numbers: everyone says “go slow,” almost nobody says how slow. They talk about “low speed,” “taking your time,” “not forcing it.” Bosch’s tile-drilling guidance does give the number: when drilling tile, the bit should not turn faster than 1,000 rpm. Rubi, the tile-tool maker, adds that the bigger the diameter, the lower the speed.

    That number changes everything once you hold it up against real drills. A DeWalt DCD771 runs at 0–450 rpm in first gear and 0–1,500 rpm in second. A Milwaukee M18 2801-20 goes from 0–500 to 0–1,800 rpm. On two popular compact drills, second gear overshoots the limit by 50% to 80% at full trigger, while first gear stays well under it, trigger fully squeezed.

    What that means in practice

    On tile, the gear selector isn’t a comfort setting, it’s a safety stop. In gear 1, you can’t exceed the limit even if you squeeze the trigger all the way; in gear 2, you’re out of range the moment you start. That’s probably why so many tiles crack with the right bit: the bit was right, the gear wasn’t. And hammer mode goes off: the blows are what split the glaze.

    The second point everyone agrees on is about money. A good carbide set costs $19.99 and a diamond set $17.99 at today’s prices. Replacing a cracked tile means chiseling it out, finding a match (often discontinued a few years after install) and regrouting. The right bit always costs less than the mistake it prevents, and it’s the one tool decision that needs no math.

    The limits that keep coming up

    Drilling in the grout line isn’t the easy way out it seems. It’s the most repeated tip, and it has a measurable limit: a typical wall grout joint is about 1/16 to 1/8 inch wide. A 5/16-inch anchor won’t fit, and a 5/16-inch bit will bite into the tiles on either side and chip them. Grout joints are fine for small screws, not for a medicine cabinet.

    Know when to stop. Most tiles are about 5/16 to 7/16 inch thick. Once you’re through, switch to a masonry bit for the wall behind: tile, glass and diamond bits wear out fast in masonry, and hammering a tile bit into concrete ruins it.

    Heat cracks tile as much as pressure does. Overheating builds stress in the tile until it splits. Dry diamond bits with a wax core handle it on their own; the others need help: a trickle of water, or a wet sponge held under the hole. Most tutorials mention water, but few connect it to cracking. That’s the mechanism.

    Two free tricks do the rest: an X of painter’s tape over the mark, which keeps the point from skating on the glaze, and a light center-punch dimple, useless with a diamond bit but essential with carbide. Finally, vacuum the dust straight from under the hole: a shop vac beats a rag every time.

    When to skip the DIY route

    • A hole wider than 2-1/2 inches (a new shower drain or a recessed fixture): that’s a job for a wet core rig or a tile pro.
    • Tempered glass tile or a glass shower panel: it can’t be drilled after tempering, with any bit.

    FAQ

    What drill bit should I use to drill tile without cracking it?

    For ceramic wall tile or glazed floor tile, a carbide spear-point bit such as the Bosch GT2000 set ($19.99 on October 27, 2026). For porcelain, which can reach 8 on a 10-point hardness scale, only a diamond bit will do. A regular masonry bit is a poor fit for either.

    What speed should I use to drill tile?

    Bosch’s guidance is no more than 1,000 rpm. On a two-speed drill, that means staying in gear 1: a DeWalt DCD771 tops out at 450 rpm there and a Milwaukee 2801-20 at 500, while their second gear reaches 1,500 and 1,800 rpm.

    Should I turn off hammer mode to drill tile?

    Yes, every time. The blows from hammer mode split the glaze and crack the tile. Only turn it back on once you’re through the tile and have switched to a masonry bit for the wall behind it.

    Can I drill into the grout instead of the tile?

    Only for small fasteners. A wall grout joint is about 1/16 to 1/8 inch wide: any bigger bit bites into the neighboring tiles and can chip them. For a medicine cabinet or a heavy load, drill through the tile.

    How deep should I drill with a tile bit?

    Just through the tile, usually 5/16 to 7/16 inch. Then switch to a masonry bit: tile, glass and diamond bits wear out very quickly in masonry and lose their bite.

    Our verdict

    The Atelier Malin mascotHanging towel bars on standard ceramic wall tile? Grab the Bosch GT2000 set at $19.99, gear 1, hammer off, painter’s tape on the mark: clean holes on the first try. Porcelain floor or wall: the DKIBBITH diamond set at $17.99, or the ZNXIMER hole saw kit at $33.49 for faucet and valve openings. Nervous about the bit skating? The THINKWORK kit at $33.99 puts the bit exactly on your mark. And scan the wall with the Franklin ProSensor M210 before the first hole. To choose the drill itself, everything is on our recommended tools page.
    Get the Bosch GT2000 set on Amazon →
    💡 Sources (October 2026): Amazon.com product listings checked on 10/27/2026 (ASIN B001GNC8RI, B0F9F28DHD, B0D3LZDC35, B0C6TCPGCB, B0917VXLDK): prices, ratings, rating counts, availability and listed specs; Bosch DIY tile-drilling guide (European edition) for the 1,000 rpm limit; manufacturer spec sheets for drill speeds. Bosch DIY — drilling into tiles: hardness scale and hammer mode · Bosch Tools USA — glass and tile bits · Rubi — drilling porcelain tile · DeWalt — DCD771 specifications · Milwaukee — 2801-20 specifications. Method: we have not tested these bits ourselves and we don’t claim to. This guide combines published tutorials, manufacturer spec sheets and retailer prices, all checked on October 27, 2026.
  • Best SDS-Plus Rotary Hammer for Home Use (2026): 4 Compared

    Best SDS-Plus Rotary Hammer for Home Use (2026): 4 Compared

    This article contains affiliate links. Learn more

    🗓️ Prices checked on October 27, 2026

    Written by Julien · Reviewed by Nadia on 10/27/2026 (prices, links and availability checked) — our editorial pen names

    THE SHORT ANSWER

    The ENEACRO ENRH3201 at $109.95 for drilling concrete at home

    The short answer: the ENEACRO ENRH3201 is the SDS-plus rotary hammer to buy for home use: $109.95 on Amazon.com (checked October 27, 2026), 4.6/5 from 3,533 ratings, and 7.4 J per blow by the maker’s figure. If you drill every week, the Bosch 11255VSR Bulldog Xtreme ($174.99) is lighter and better rated.

    See the ENEACRO ENRH3201 on Amazon →

    Your regular drill spins and spins against a concrete wall and the hole barely starts. In concrete, it isn’t rotation speed that drills, it’s the blow, and that’s exactly what a rotary hammer delivers. Still hesitating between the two families? Our hammer drill vs rotary hammer guide settles it. More in our Drilling & Driving section.

    The four rotary hammers compared

    Four corded 120 V rotary hammers with an SDS-plus chuck, the standard for drilling concrete at home, in stock on Amazon.com on October 27, 2026, from $54.79 to $176.26. SDS-plus is what they all share: the bits lock in without a chuck key and take the blows, which a regular drill chuck can’t handle.

    Rotary hammerImpact energy (brand)Concrete capacityPrice (Oct 27, 2026)Amazon.com rating
    ENEACRO ENRH3201 — our pick7.4 J (5.5 ft-lbs)1-1/4 in.$109.954.6/5 (3,533)
    Bosch 11255VSR Bulldog Xtreme2.7 J (2.0 ft-lbs)1 in. class$174.994.7/5 (3,036)
    DeWalt D25263K3.0 J (2.2 ft-lbs)1-1/8 in.$176.264.7/5 (1,563)
    DESHUO 1 in. SDS-plus3 J (2.21 ft-lbs)1 in.$54.794.5/5 (506)

    Each model in detail

    The home pick

    ENEACRO ENRH3201

    $109.95

    4.6/5 — 3,533 ratings

    13 A · SDS-plus · 4,200 bpm · drill, hammer, rotary hammer and chisel modes · corded

    Good to know: the 13 A rating is the current the motor draws, not the impact energy. The number that decides drilling speed is the energy per blow, in joules: ENEACRO claims 7.4 J, the highest on this page, in a 12.6 lb body (bare tool, per the listing).

    See the price on Amazon →
    The proven classic

    Bosch 11255VSR Bulldog Xtreme

    $174.99

    4.7/5 — 3,036 ratings · sold by Amazon.com

    7.5 A · SDS-plus · 0–1,300 rpm, 0–5,800 bpm · 3 modes · vibration control · D-handle

    Good to know: one of the best ratings on the page, on a big volume of reviews. What you pay for is balance in hand and consistency over series of holes, not record power.

    See the price on Amazon →
    For drilling often

    DeWalt D25263K

    $176.26

    4.7/5 — 1,563 ratings · sold by Amazon.com

    8.5 A · 1-1/8 in. SDS-plus · 3.0 J · Active Vibration Control (“Shocks”) · clutch · kit box

    Good to know: its vibration control and its integral clutch, which reduces the kick if the bit jams, are what you feel after fifty holes. It also fits DeWalt’s D25301D dust extraction attachment, per the listing.

    See the price on Amazon →
    The lowest budget

    DESHUO 1 in. SDS-plus

    $54.79

    4.5/5 — 506 ratings

    9 A · 0–1,100 rpm, 0–5,300 bpm · 3 J claimed · 4 modes · 7.2 lbs · corded

    Good to know: it publishes its impact energy, 3 J, a fair figure for drilling anchors at home, and the seller lists a 24-month warranty. The brand says it outright: made for DIY, not for heavy demolition.

    See the price on Amazon →

    Who should skip it

    If you only hang a few frames a year on drywall or wood, you don’t need a rotary hammer: a good cordless drill is lighter and drives screws too. And if your job is breaking up a slab rather than drilling it, look at SDS-max demolition hammers, a heavier category.

    What really matters when you choose

    Impact energy, not amps

    That’s the number that counts, in joules (or ft-lbs in the US: 1 ft-lb is about 1.36 J). A 2 to 3 J rotary hammer comfortably drills concrete for household fastening: anchors, ledger boards, furniture brackets. The amps printed big on the box measure what the motor draws, not how hard it hits: two 8 A tools can strike very differently.

    SDS-plus means the bit takes the blow

    On a rotary hammer, the bit isn’t clamped in jaws: it slides in a grooved shank that lets it take the impact. That’s why an SDS-plus bit won’t fit a regular drill, and why a round-shank bit has no place in a rotary hammer. The two worlds don’t mix.

    A hammer drill is not a rotary hammer

    A hammer drill makes a fast, light vibration with two ribbed discs rubbing together: it gets through brick or soft block if you lean on it. A rotary hammer strikes with a piston, much harder and much slower. In concrete, the gap isn’t about comfort, it’s about whether the hole happens at all.

    The chisel mode earns its keep

    All four offer a hammer-only mode, with no rotation, to knock off tile, rough out a channel or remove old thinset. You don’t buy a rotary hammer for it, and you always end up using it during a remodel. Keep a shop vac close: concrete dust contains crystalline silica.

    Frequently asked questions

    Rotary hammer or hammer drill: which should I buy?

    If you mostly drill wood and metal and the occasional brick, a hammer drill is enough. For concrete, rebar-reinforced concrete or repeated anchors in hard material, the rotary hammer is the right tool: it drills faster, with far less effort, and without burning through bits.

    How much impact energy do I need?

    2 to 3 joules for home use: anchors, ledger boards, through-holes in a foundation wall. 3 to 5 J for regular work or reinforced concrete. Beyond that, you’re into heavy chiseling and SDS-max, a different shank standard.

    Will my regular drill bits work in a rotary hammer?

    Not directly. An SDS-plus rotary hammer only takes SDS-plus bits, recognizable by their grooves. For round-shank bits in rotation-only mode, Bosch sells an SDS-plus keyless chuck adapter, the HA3JAWC, at $37.99 on Amazon.com (October 27, 2026).

    Should I get a cordless rotary hammer?

    Cordless is very convenient overhead or far from an outlet, and recent models drill seriously: the DeWalt 20V MAX DCH133B delivers 2.6 J per DeWalt and costs $249.00 tool only on Amazon.com (October 27, 2026). Add batteries and it costs far more than a corded tool, which stays the rational choice for a few uses a year.

    How do I drill tile without cracking it?

    Start in rotation-only mode, with no hammer, using a bit made for tile, and switch on the hammer only once you’re through the tile. A piece of masking tape on the mark keeps the bit from wandering. Hammering from the first fraction of an inch is the most common cause of chips. Our guide on how to drill tile without cracking covers it step by step.

    Our verdict 🧰

    For home use, the ENEACRO ENRH3201 at $109.95 covers everything a house asks of a rotary hammer, with 3,533 ratings behind it and the most impact energy on this page. If you drill regularly, the Bosch 11255VSR Bulldog Xtreme ($174.99) or the DeWalt D25263K ($176.26) are better rated and nicer over series of holes: you pay for comfort and consistency, not power. The DESHUO at $54.79 is a real option if budget comes first. And if you’re still torn with a hammer drill: in concrete, it’s not the same class of tool. Your first anchor will tell you.

    See the ENEACRO ENRH3201 on Amazon →

    All our picks are on our recommended tools page, and every drilling guide is in Drilling & Driving.

    Our sources (October 2026): Amazon.com product listings read on October 27, 2026 (ASIN B07QW55TPV, B000BB79Q6, B00VNBV2F2, B0F6CK5VC5, B01MF4YEIF, B0062ICGEM) for prices, ratings, rating counts and listed specs · DeWalt, D25263K SDS-plus rotary hammer kit · DeWalt, DCH133B cordless rotary hammer · Wikipedia, “Hammer drill” (rotary hammer principle and SDS) · OSHA, crystalline silica. We did not test these tools ourselves and we don’t claim to: we compare public data, and we say which figures we couldn’t verify (ENEACRO’s and DESHUO’s energy figures are their own claims).
  • Impact Driver vs Drill: Which One Should You Buy First?

    Impact Driver vs Drill: Which One Should You Buy First?

    This article contains affiliate links. Learn more

    🗓️ Prices checked on October 27, 2026

    Written by Julien · Reviewed by Nadia on 10/27/2026 (prices, links and availability checked) — our editorial pen names

    The short answer: start with a drill/driver, because it drills and drives. But on October 27, 2026, the DeWalt DCK240C2 kit (drill, impact driver, two batteries) costs $129.00 on Amazon.com, the same as DeWalt’s drill kit alone, so buy the pair. Already own a drill? Add a bare impact driver from your battery brand.

    Our pick: the DeWalt 20V MAX DCK240C2 combo kit, because for $129.00 you get the DCD771 drill/driver, the DCF885 impact driver, two batteries and a charger, rated 4.7/5 from 61,268 ratings on Amazon.com (checked October 27, 2026).

    See the DeWalt DCK240C2 kit on Amazon →See the brushless DeWalt DCK277D2 kit →

    Every tool aisle in America puts these two side by side, and they look almost the same. They don’t do the same job. This guide is part of our Drilling & Driving section; if you only want the best drill on its own, see our best cordless drill comparison.

    Impact driver vs drill: the key facts in 4 points

    • A drill/driver does both jobs. A 1/2 in. (13 mm) keyless chuck, an adjustable clutch and two speeds (0–450 and 0–1,500 rpm on the DeWalt DCD771, per DeWalt). It’s the tool for flat-pack furniture, shelves, wall anchors and pilot holes.
    • An impact driver does one job, and does it better. A 1/4 in. hex quick-release collet and 1,460 in-lbs (165 N·m) with up to 3,500 impacts per minute on the Makita XDT11Z, per its listing: long screws sink into lumber without the twist landing on your wrist.
    • Torque numbers aren’t comparable across the two. Impact drivers are rated at 1,400 to 1,700 in-lbs (158 to 192 N·m); DeWalt rates its drill in power (300 UWO, “unit watts out”), not torque. The impact driver wins on force, the drill on finesse.
    • Buy the drill first, unless you already own one. When you add the second tool, stay on the same battery platform. And if a deck or a shed is on your list, get both tools on one battery now: one charger, batteries that swap between tools.

    Impact driver vs drill: who wins what, row by row?

    Specs as published by DeWalt and Makita and on the Amazon.com listings; prices, ratings and sellers checked on Amazon.com on October 27, 2026. Examples: Makita XDT11Z and DeWalt DCF885 for the impact driver, DeWalt DCD771 for the drill/driver.

    FeatureImpact driverDrill/driverWinner
    Rated output1,400 in-lbs (DeWalt DCF885) to 1,460 in-lbs (Makita XDT11Z)300 UWO of power (DeWalt DCD771), no torque figure✔ impact driver
    Long screws (deck, shed, framing)Rotary impacts: up to 3,500 per minute (XDT11Z)Struggles with long screws and sends the twist back to your wrist✔ impact driver
    Drilling wood and metal1/4 in. hex-shank bits only, rougher holes1/2 in. chuck takes round-shank bits, spade bits and hole saws✔ drill/driver
    Small screws, flat-pack, particleboardNo clutch: only your trigger finger controls itAdjustable clutch stops before the screw strips✔ drill/driver
    Bit holder1/4 in. hex, one-handed bit changesKeyless chuck: round bits, hex bits, hole saws✔ drill/driver (versatility)
    SizeMakita XDT11Z: 5-3/8 in. long, 2.8 lbs with battery (per its listing)Longer head: the chuck alone adds a couple of inches✔ impact driver (shorter)
    Starting price, battery includedMakita XDT11Z: $81.98 tool only, no battery or chargerDeWalt DCD771C2: $129.00 with 2 batteries and charger✔ drill/driver
    NoiseLoud as soon as the impacts kick inQuiet when driving screws✔ drill/driver

    Score: 5 rows for the drill/driver, 3 for the impact driver. Prices on Amazon.com on October 27, 2026: DeWalt DCK240C2 drill + impact driver kit $129.00 (4.7/5, 61,268 ratings, sold by Amazon.com) · DeWalt DCD771C2 drill kit $129.00 (4.8/5, 49,952 ratings, sold by Amazon.com) · Makita XDT11Z, tool only $81.98 (4.7/5, 1,079 ratings, third-party seller).

    What the spec sheets don’t tell you: the real starting price

    Cross-checking the DeWalt and Makita specs with Amazon.com prices on October 27, 2026, three points stand out that no listing puts up front.

    What you pay to start workingPrice (Oct 27, 2026)What you get
    Makita XDT11Z + Makita 18V LXT starter pack (4.0Ah battery + charger)$81.98 + $99.97 = $181.951 impact driver, 1 battery
    DeWalt DCD771C2 drill kit$129.001 drill/driver, 2 batteries
    DeWalt DCK240C2 combo kit$129.001 drill/driver + 1 impact driver, 2 batteries
    DeWalt DCK277D2 brushless combo kit$199.002 brushless tools, 2 batteries of 2.0Ah
    • The cheapest impact driver isn’t the cheapest way to start. The Makita XDT11Z sells for $81.98 bare: you still need a Makita 18V LXT battery and charger ($99.97 for the BL1840BDC1 starter pack). That’s $181.95 for one tool, against $129.00 for DeWalt’s drill and impact driver with two batteries.
    • Today, the second tool is free. The DeWalt DCK240C2 kit and the DCD771C2 drill kit both cost $129.00 on Amazon.com on October 27, 2026. Same drill, same two batteries, same charger: the kit simply adds the DCF885 impact driver and its 1,400 in-lbs. Amazon shows a $239.00 list price on the kit; that’s a reference, not proof of a real markdown, but $129.00 is the price you pay that day.
    • The extra force only drives screws. The impact driver’s 1,400 to 1,460 in-lbs don’t drill one more hole: they sink long structural screws and lag bolts, the jobs where a drill/driver stalls or twists your wrist.

    A trap to avoid with Makita: the compact 12V CXT tools and the 18V LXT tools don’t share batteries. Buy one tool in each line and you’ll need two chargers.

    What if I own neither?

    That’s where the best deal usually is: a kit that pairs a drill/driver and an impact driver on the same batteries. Three levels, checked on Amazon.com on October 27, 2026.

    • Best quality: the DeWalt DCK277D2 kit, $199.00. Brushless DCD777 drill/driver and brushless DCF787 impact driver (1,500 in-lbs per the listing), two 2.0Ah batteries, charger and bag. Rated 4.8/5 from 4,821 ratings, third-party seller, in stock. See the DeWalt DCK277D2 kit
    • Best value: the DeWalt DCK240C2 kit, $129.00, our pick: DCD771 drill/driver (1/2 in. chuck, 300 UWO, two speeds), DCF885 impact driver (1,400 in-lbs), two 1.3Ah batteries, charger and contractor bag. Rated 4.7/5 from 61,268 ratings, sold by Amazon.com. Later, you can add DeWalt’s compact ATOMIC DCF809B impact driver ($94.00 tool only, 1,700 in-lbs per the listing, 4.7/5 from 3,344 ratings) on the same batteries. See the DeWalt DCK240C2 kit
    • Cheapest that holds up: the same DeWalt DCK240C2. No complete, well-rated impact driver kit beat its price on October 27, 2026. If you already run Makita 18V LXT batteries, the bare Makita XDT11Z at $81.98 (4.7/5 from 1,079 ratings) is the impact driver to add. See the Makita XDT11Z
    See the DeWalt DCK240C2 kit on Amazon →

    Our verdict by profile: which one should you buy first?

    • First tool, apartment, flat-pack furniture, shelves: the drill/driver, and at today’s price, take it in the DeWalt DCK240C2 kit for the same $129.00. Match your bits to your screws with our Phillips vs Pozidriv vs Torx guide.
    • You already own a drill and you’re building a deck, a shed or a pergola: the impact driver, bare, from your battery brand: Makita XDT11Z ($81.98) on Makita 18V LXT, DeWalt DCF809B ($94.00) on DeWalt 20V MAX.
    • Whole house to equip, big wood project ahead: the brushless kit, DeWalt DCK277D2 at $199.00.
    • You mostly drill into concrete: neither one; read hammer drill vs rotary hammer.

    Who should skip it

    • Night-time and indoor work: an impact driver bangs with every impact; late in the evening or in a shared building, the drill/driver is the quieter choice.
    • Bits: impacts wear out ordinary bits fast; buy bits sold as “impact ready” or “impact rated”.
    • Small batteries: the DCK240C2’s 1.3Ah packs are fine for furniture and shelves, short for a full day of decking; that runtime gap is part of what the DCK277D2’s 2.0Ah packs add.
    • Third-party sellers: on October 27, 2026, the Makita XDT11Z and the DeWalt DCK277D2 were sold by third-party sellers on Amazon.com; check the seller and the return policy before you order.

    How Malin chooses

    Malin, the Atelier Malin mascot

    1. The price to start working, battery and charger included, checked the same day.

    2. What the tool really does: drill, drive small screws gently, or sink long screws.

    3. A model in stock, rated by thousands of buyers, on a battery that will run your next tool.

    Method: we did not test these tools ourselves. This guide cross-checks the Amazon.com listings (prices, ratings, sellers, stock), DeWalt’s product pages for the DCK240C2, DCD771C2 and DCF809B, and Makita’s page for the XDT11Z, all checked on October 27, 2026. Starting prices, gaps and comparisons are our own calculations.

    Frequently asked questions

    Should I buy an impact driver or a drill first?

    A drill/driver, in most cases: it drills wood and metal and drives every screw you’ll meet around the house. The impact driver comes second, for long deck, shed or framing screws. On October 27, 2026, though, the DeWalt DCK240C2 kit with both tools costs $129.00 on Amazon.com, the same as the drill kit alone.

    Can you drill holes with an impact driver?

    A little, not really. It has no chuck: only 1/4 in. hex-shank bits fit, and the impacts leave rougher holes. For a wall anchor hole or a clean hole in metal, you need a drill/driver, or a hammer drill for masonry.

    How much more torque does an impact driver have than a drill?

    Impact drivers are rated at 1,400 to 1,700 in-lbs (DeWalt DCF885: 1,400; Makita XDT11Z: 1,460; DeWalt DCF809: 1,700). DeWalt rates its DCD771 drill at 300 UWO, a power figure rather than torque, so there is no exact ratio. The impact driver’s torque comes in short bursts, so your wrist doesn’t take the twist.

    Is a drill and impact driver combo kit worth it?

    Yes, especially right now: the DeWalt DCK240C2 combo kit was $129.00 on Amazon.com on October 27, 2026, the same price as the DCD771C2 drill kit alone. For brushless motors on both tools and 2.0Ah batteries, the DeWalt DCK277D2 kit costs $199.00.

    Our verdict

    Our pick: the DeWalt 20V MAX DCK240C2 combo kit, because for $129.00 you get the DCD771 drill/driver, the DCF885 impact driver, two batteries and a charger, rated 4.7/5 from 61,268 ratings on Amazon.com (checked October 27, 2026). The drill/driver is still the tool to own first, and today it comes with a free impact driver. Already own a drill? Add a bare impact driver on your batteries. Building a deck this year? Step up to the brushless DCK277D2 at $199.00 and enjoy the longer runtime.

    See the DeWalt DCK240C2 kit on Amazon →See the DeWalt DCK277D2 kit →

    Go further: our best cordless drill comparison, all our Drilling & Driving guides, and every tool we stand behind on our recommended tools page.

    Sources (October 2026): DeWalt, DCK240C2 drill/driver and impact driver combo kit · DeWalt, DCD771C2 drill/driver kit · Makita, XDT11Z 18V LXT impact driver · Makita, BL1840BDC1 battery and charger starter pack · Amazon.com listings of the six products, read on October 27, 2026. Prices change: check the day you buy.

  • Hammer Drill vs Rotary Hammer: Which One for Concrete?

    Hammer Drill vs Rotary Hammer: Which One for Concrete?

    This article contains affiliate links. Learn more

    🗓️ Prices checked on October 27, 2026

    Written by Julien · Reviewed by Nadia on 10/27/2026 (prices, links and availability checked) — our editorial pen names

    The short answer: to drill concrete regularly, get a rotary hammer: rotary hammers publish 2 to 7 joules per blow, hammer drills publish none. The ENEACRO ENRH3201 rotary hammer was $109.95 on Amazon.com on October 27, 2026. For small holes in brick or block, the Black+Decker BEHD201 hammer drill at $54.00 is enough.

    Our pick: the ENEACRO ENRH3201 rotary hammer, because it claims 7.4 J per blow for $109.95, or $14.86 per joule against $64.81 for the Bosch Bulldog Xtreme, and it is rated 4.6/5 from 3,533 ratings on Amazon.com (checked October 27, 2026).

    See the ENEACRO ENRH3201 on Amazon →

    What’s the difference between a hammer drill and a rotary hammer?

    A hammer drill adds a very fast back-and-forth motion to the bit while it spins: it’s a regular drill that “taps” as it turns. A rotary hammer has a dedicated piston mechanism and an SDS-plus chuck: it hits far less often but far harder, and it can also chisel. This guide belongs to our Drilling & Driving section.

    • Hammer drill: light, standard 1/2 in. (13 mm) chuck, can also drive screws, impact energy not published.
    • SDS-plus rotary hammer: heavier, SDS-plus bits only, impact energy published in joules or ft-lbs.

    How big a hole in concrete can each tool drill?

    Specs as published by the brands on their Amazon.com listings; prices, ratings and stock checked on Amazon.com on October 27, 2026. All four are corded 120 V tools.

    ToolMotorBlowsConcrete capacityPrice (Oct 27, 2026)
    Black+Decker BEHD201
    hammer drill
    6.5 A48,000 bpm, energy not publishedNot stated (1/2 in. chuck)$54.00 · See the price
    SKIL HD182001
    hammer drill
    7.5 ABlow rate and energy not publishedNot stated (1/2 in. keyed chuck)$64.99 · See the price
    ENEACRO ENRH3201 — our pick
    SDS-plus rotary hammer
    13 A4,200 bpm, 7.4 J / 5.5 ft-lbs (brand claim)1-1/4 in. (32 mm)$109.95 · See the price
    Bosch 11255VSR Bulldog Xtreme
    SDS-plus rotary hammer
    7.5 A5,800 bpm, 2.0 ft-lbs (2.7 J)1 in. class$174.99 · See the price

    Sources: Amazon.com listings of the four tools (specs as written by each brand). Deals change daily: check the price the day you buy.

    ENEACRO ENRH3201: the most rotary hammer for about $110

    SDS-plus rotary hammer with a 13 A motor, 820 rpm and 4,200 blows per minute, with four modes: drill only, hammer only, rotary hammer and chisel angle adjustment. ENEACRO claims 7.4 J (5.5 ft-lbs) per blow and up to 1-1/4 in. in concrete. In stock on Amazon.com at $109.95 on October 27, 2026, rated 4.6/5 from 3,533 ratings. It weighs 12.6 lbs bare, per the listing: it’s a two-handed tool. Our best SDS-plus rotary hammer comparison puts it against three other models.

    See the price →

    Bosch 11255VSR Bulldog Xtreme: lighter, better rated, pricier

    The classic American SDS-plus rotary hammer: 7.5 A motor, 0–1,300 rpm, 0–5,800 bpm and 2.0 ft-lbs (2.7 J) per blow according to Bosch, with three modes (rotation only, rotary hammer, hammer only), vibration control and a D-handle. $174.99 on October 27, 2026, sold by Amazon.com, rated 4.7/5 from 3,036 ratings. You pay for the brand, the balance in hand and a long track record.

    See the price →

    Black+Decker BEHD201: the hammer drill for small holes

    6.5 A, 48,000 blows per minute, a 1/2 in. single-sleeve chuck, a drill/hammer switch and a 3-position side handle. $54.00 on October 27, 2026, sold by Amazon.com, rated 4.3/5 from 2,309 ratings. For drilling plaster, brick, block or wood and driving the odd screw, it does the job. In poured concrete, it hits its limit fast.

    See the price →

    What the spec sheets don’t tell you: the energy per blow

    Cross-checking the Bosch, ENEACRO, Black+Decker and SKIL listings, one point keeps coming up without being said out loud: neither hammer drill in our shortlist publishes an impact energy, while both rotary hammers do (2.7 J and 7.4 J).

    ToolBlows per minuteEnergy per blowPrice per joule
    Black+Decker BEHD201 (hammer drill)48,000Not published—
    Bosch 11255VSR (rotary hammer)5,8002.7 J (2.0 ft-lbs)$64.81
    ENEACRO ENRH3201 (rotary hammer)4,2007.4 J (5.5 ft-lbs, brand claim)$14.86

    The hammer drill strikes 8.3 times more often than the Bosch (48,000 vs 5,800 blows per minute) and 11.4 times more often than the ENEACRO (4,200), but, as we read it, each blow is much lighter. That is why a hammer drill’s chuck is rated in inches of bit, while a rotary hammer’s spec sheet talks about joules.

    Second calculation: per dollar, a joule costs $14.86 on the ENEACRO ($109.95 for 7.4 J) and $64.81 on the Bosch ($174.99 for 2.7 J), more than four times as much. The Bosch earns its price with its weight, its 4.7/5 rating and its brand; the ENEACRO earns its place with the most power per dollar, as long as you remember that 7.4 J is the maker’s own figure.

    When is a hammer drill enough?

    For small holes in brick, block or plaster, and for driving screws between two holes. Wall anchors for a TV mount in brick, a mailbox on a block wall: a hammer drill does it. Drilling tile without cracking it is another story: read our guide on how to drill tile without cracking, where the hammer mode generally stays off. For a cordless drill/driver instead, see our best cordless drill comparison.

    Who should skip it

    • Apartment dwellers who drill twice a year: a rotary hammer is loud and heavy; the $54.00 hammer drill is the better buy for occasional anchors in brick.
    • ENEACRO’s figures: 7.4 J and 1-1/4 in. come from the brand’s own listing, not from an independent measurement.
    • Noise and dust: wear hearing protection, and a mask for concrete dust, which contains crystalline silica (see OSHA’s silica page below). A shop vac held next to the hole catches most of it.
    • SDS-plus bits: they are sold separately; budget for a set.

    How Malin chooses

    Malin, the Atelier Malin mascot

    Malin: “I look at what the maker publishes, then at what it doesn’t. A hammer drill that doesn’t give its joules isn’t necessarily hiding something, but I won’t compare it with a rotary hammer without saying so.”

    Method: we did not test these tools ourselves. This guide cross-checks the Amazon.com listings (prices, ratings, stock, specs written by each brand) read on October 27, 2026. The calculations (blows per minute, price per joule) are ours.

    Frequently asked questions

    Can you drill concrete with a hammer drill?

    Yes, for small holes: a hammer drill handles wall anchors in brick, block, plaster and softer concrete. Hammer drills don’t publish an impact energy, though, and in hard poured concrete they slow down quickly. For regular concrete work or bigger holes, a rotary hammer is the right tool.

    Rotary hammer or hammer drill: which one for a DIYer?

    If you drill concrete regularly or need holes bigger than about 1/2 in., get an SDS-plus rotary hammer: the two in our shortlist publish 2.7 J (Bosch 11255VSR) and 7.4 J (ENEACRO ENRH3201). For small holes in brick, plaster or wood, and for driving screws, a hammer drill is enough.

    What does SDS-plus mean?

    It’s a bit-shank system made for rotary hammers. An SDS-plus rotary hammer only takes SDS-plus bits, recognizable by their grooves: buy a set with the tool, because the round-shank bits from your drill won’t lock in.

    How much does an SDS-plus rotary hammer cost?

    Between $109.95 (ENEACRO ENRH3201) and $174.99 (Bosch 11255VSR Bulldog Xtreme) for the two models we checked on Amazon.com on October 27, 2026. The Black+Decker BEHD201 hammer drill was $54.00 the same day.

    Our verdict

    To drill concrete regularly, the ENEACRO ENRH3201 rotary hammer at $109.95 is our pick for the most impact energy per dollar; the Bosch 11255VSR Bulldog Xtreme at $174.99 is the one to get if you want a lighter tool, the brand and a 4.7/5 rating. For small holes and driving screws, the Black+Decker BEHD201 hammer drill at $54.00 does the job. Whatever you choose, read the concrete capacity before the price, and your next anchor will go in on the first try.

    See the ENEACRO ENRH3201 on Amazon →See the Bosch Bulldog Xtreme →

    All our picks are on our recommended tools page. With Black Friday coming, see also our Black Friday 2026 power tool deals to watch before November 27.

    Sources (October 2026): Wikipedia, “Hammer drill” (hammer drill and rotary hammer mechanisms, SDS) · OSHA, crystalline silica · Amazon.com listings of the four tools (ASIN B07GKWQJV2, B086D1MDPD, B07QW55TPV, B000BB79Q6), read on October 27, 2026.

  • Phillips vs Pozidriv vs Torx: Which Screwdriver Bit Do You Need?

    Phillips vs Pozidriv vs Torx: Which Screwdriver Bit Do You Need?

    This article contains affiliate links. Learn more

    🗓️ Prices checked on October 27, 2026

    Written by Julien · Reviewed by Nadia on 10/27/2026 (prices, links and availability checked) — our editorial pen names

    The short answer: get a bit set that labels Phillips, Pozidriv and Torx, like the Bosch 32-piece “Pro” set at $36.53 on Amazon.com (checked October 27, 2026; 4.7/5 from 24,814 ratings), if you build furniture or fix things at home. Phillips (PH) and Pozidriv (PZ) look alike but don’t mix; Torx, a six-point star, slips the least.

    Our pick: the Bosch 32-piece “Pro” screwdriver bit set, because it covers Phillips, Pozidriv, Torx, hex and slotted screws in one compact case for $36.53 on Amazon.com, rated 4.7/5 from 24,814 ratings (checked October 27, 2026).

    Screwdriver bits and screw heads, illustration without text, in the workshop's brown and orange palette

    Why Phillips and Pozidriv get mixed up

    Phillips (PH) and Pozidriv (PZ) share the same cross shape, yet they are two different drives. Pozidriv, patented by GKN in 1962, is an improved Phillips: it adds small extra ribs between the arms of the cross so the bit engages more fully and is less likely to cam out at higher torque (source: Wikipedia, “List of screw drives”). A Phillips bit wobbles in a Pozidriv screw: it holds poorly as soon as torque rises and ends up rounding the recess. The other way round, a Pozidriv bit jams into a Phillips screw and damages it just as surely.

    In American hardware stores, most screws you buy are Phillips, deck and construction screws often come with a square drive or a Torx (“star”) drive, and Pozidriv shows up mostly on furniture and hardware made in Europe. That’s exactly where stripped screws come from: the habit that ruins the most screws isn’t a bad clutch setting, it’s a “cross-head” bit that is neither truly PH nor truly PZ. This guide sits in our Drilling & Driving section.

    How to identify a screw head in 10 seconds

    No magnifier, no spec sheet; four clues are enough:

    • Phillips (PH): a simple cross, smooth arms, nothing in between.
    • Pozidriv (PZ): a cross with a small extra notch between each arm, eight lines in all when you look closely.
    • Torx (T or TX): a six-point star with rounded lobes, developed in 1967 by Camcar Textron. It looks like neither of the crosses and slips much less under high torque, which explains its growing place on deck screws, appliances and premium furniture.
    • Square (SQ, also called Robertson): a square socket, very common on US deck and cabinet screws. Any good set should include it.

    The size stamped on the bit (PH2, PZ2, T20, SQ2…) remains the most reliable reference when you can read it: the number gives the size, the letters give the type.

    The bit sets compared

    Bit set Drives covered Pieces Price (Oct 27, 2026) Amazon.com rating
    Bosch “Pro” 32-piece (the most complete for the money) PH, PZ, Torx, hex, slotted 32 $36.53 4.7/5 (24,814 ratings)
    DeWalt FlexTorq 40-piece (for the impact driver) The common US drives; no Pozidriv listed 40 $17.98 4.8/5 (48,092 ratings)

    Bosch “Pro” screwdriver bit set, 32 pieces

    The best-rated all-rounder here: a wide spread of Phillips, Pozidriv, Torx, hex and slotted sizes in one compact case. Shipped to the US by Amazon’s global store. Our first-buy recommendation.

    $36.53 · 4.7/5 · 24,814 ratings · In stock

    See the price →

    DeWalt Impact Ready FlexTorq, 40 pieces (DWA2T40IR)

    25 one-inch bits, nine 2-1/4 in. bits, a 3-1/2 in. bit, two nut drivers, a magnetic bit holder and a socket adapter, per DeWalt. The FlexTorq zone absorbs the peaks of an impact driver so the bit doesn’t snap: the pick if you drive a lot of deck or framing screws. Sold by Amazon.com, and the number-one seller in screwdriver bit sets that day.

    $17.98 · 4.8/5 · 48,092 ratings · In stock

    See the price →

    Who should skip it

    If every screw in your house is Phillips and square, and you never assemble European furniture, you don’t need Pozidriv bits: the DeWalt 40-piece set covers you for less. For the tool that drives these bits, see our best cordless drill comparison.

    How Malin chooses

    Malin, the Atelier Malin mascot

    Malin: “I never look at the piece count first. A 200-bit set with 40 Torx sizes you’ll never use doesn’t help more than a well-spread 30-piece set. I check three things: that Phillips, Pozidriv and Torx are all there, that the sizes are engraved (not just printed, which wears off), and that the steel is announced as S2 or equivalent, otherwise the bit twists before the screw does.”

    Method: we did not test these sets ourselves. Specs come from the manufacturers and the Amazon.com listings, prices and ratings were read on October 27, 2026, and the drive history comes from the Wikipedia pages listed below.

    Frequently asked questions

    Can you use a Phillips bit on a Pozidriv screw?

    It “fits” visually, but the bit has play in the Pozidriv recess. On a short screw at low torque, it may work once; as soon as torque rises (impact driver, long screw), the bit slips and rounds the recess, and the screw becomes hard to back out.

    How can I tell Phillips from Pozidriv without removing the screw?

    Look closely at the recess under raking light: if you see eight lines (four big arms and four small offset notches), it’s Pozidriv. A simple four-arm cross with nothing in between is Phillips.

    Why is Torx showing up on more screws?

    Because it slips much less under high torque than cross-shaped drives, which lowers the risk of stripping the screw or marring the panel around it when you drive with a power tool. Many deck and construction screws sold in the US now use a Torx (“star”) drive.

    Do I need special bits for an impact driver?

    Not strictly, but regular bits wear out faster under an impact driver’s blows. A set sold as “impact ready” or with a torsion zone, like the DeWalt FlexTorq 40-piece at $17.98 on Amazon.com (October 27, 2026), lasts noticeably longer for that job. Our impact driver vs drill guide explains when each tool makes sense.

    Does one bit size fit every screw of the same type?

    No: the number matches a range of screw sizes. Per Wikipedia, a #2 Phillips driver fits #5 to #9 wood screws; a smaller or bigger screw needs a #1 or a #3. The same logic applies to PZ1, PZ2 and PZ3, even though they are all Pozidriv.

    Our verdict

    For everyday home use (furniture, shelves, small repairs), the Bosch 32-piece “Pro” set at $36.53 covers Phillips, Pozidriv and Torx in one case, at a price that makes it easy to keep one in every toolbox. If you drive a lot with an impact driver (deck, framing), the DeWalt FlexTorq 40-piece at $17.98 earns its place with longer life under impacts, and 48,092 ratings back it up. Either way, the rule that saves the most screws stays the same: read the marking before you push, and your next screw will go in clean.

    See the Bosch 32-piece set on Amazon →See the DeWalt FlexTorq 40-piece →

    To go further on the tools that drive these bits: our best cordless drill comparison, our impact driver vs drill guide, and, before you drive into a tiled wall, how to drill tile without cracking.

    Find all our tool picks on our recommended tools page.

    Sources (October 2026): Wikipedia, “List of screw drives” (Phillips, Pozidriv, sizes) · Wikipedia, “Torx” · Wikipedia, “Robertson screw” · DeWalt, DWA2T40IR FlexTorq 40-piece set · Amazon.com listings (ASIN B00IM7BIY0, B00GMXFK3G), read on October 27, 2026.

  • Best Cordless Drill for Home Use (2026): 4 Drills Compared

    Best Cordless Drill for Home Use (2026): 4 Drills Compared

    This article contains affiliate links. Learn more

    🗓️ Prices checked on October 27, 2026

    Written by Julien · Reviewed by Nadia on 10/27/2026 (prices, links and availability checked) — our editorial pen names

    THE SHORT ANSWER

    At $64.99, this Black+Decker kit covers almost every job at home

    The short answer: the Black+Decker 20V MAX BDC120VA100 kit is the cordless drill most homes need: $64.99 on Amazon.com (checked October 27, 2026), 4.6/5 from 5,649 ratings, with a battery, a charger and 100 bits and sockets. Planning more cordless tools? Start a battery platform with DeWalt’s $129.00 drill + impact driver kit instead.

    See the Black+Decker 20V MAX kit on Amazon →

    This comparison belongs to our Drilling & Driving guides. Not sure you need a drill rather than an impact driver? Read impact driver vs drill first: it takes two minutes.

    The four drills compared

    Our shortlist covers cordless drill/drivers actually in stock on Amazon.com, from $64.99 to $174.50. Ratings and rating counts are the ones shown on October 27, 2026: a 4.7/5 from 1,981 ratings doesn’t carry the same weight as a 4.7/5 from 61,268, which is why we show both.

    DrillBest forPrice (Oct 27, 2026)Amazon.com ratingIn the box
    Black+Decker 20V MAX BDC120VA100 — our pickMost homes$64.994.6/5 (5,649)Drill, 1 battery, charger, 100 bits and sockets
    Craftsman V20 CMCD700C1A bit more power$99.004.7/5 (6,051)1/2 in. drill, 1 battery, charger
    DeWalt 20V MAX DCK240C2Starting a battery platform$129.004.7/5 (61,268)Drill + impact driver, 2 batteries, charger, bag
    DeWalt Xtreme 12V MAX DCD701F2Tight spaces$174.504.7/5 (1,981)Brushless drill, 2 batteries 2.0Ah, charger, bag

    Each drill in detail

    Our default pick

    Black+Decker 20V MAX BDC120VA100

    $64.99

    4.6/5 — 5,649 ratings · sold by Amazon.com

    20V MAX cordless · 24-position clutch · up to 650 rpm · battery, charger and 100-piece accessory kit

    • Thousands of buyers behind it: 5,649 ratings at 4.6/5
    • Comes with 100 bits and sockets: nothing else to buy to get started
    • Drills wood and drywall, drives screws for furniture and shelves

    Good to know: its POWERCONNECT battery runs Black+Decker’s home tools (sander, trimmer, vacuum), not DeWalt or Craftsman tools. Perfect for a home kit; for a growing workshop, look at a pro platform.

    See the price on Amazon →
    A bit more power

    Craftsman V20 CMCD700C1

    $99.00

    4.7/5 — 6,051 ratings · sold by Amazon.com

    20V MAX · 280 UWO · 2 speeds (0–350 / 0–1,500 rpm) · 1/2 in. keyless chuck

    • 1/2 in. (13 mm) chuck: takes bigger bits and hole saws
    • Two-speed gearbox: slow for screws, fast for holes
    • 3-year limited warranty, per Craftsman’s listing

    Good to know: one battery in the box. Add a second one if you work more than an hour at a stretch.

    See the price on Amazon →
    If you’re starting a battery platform

    DeWalt 20V MAX DCK240C2 (drill + impact driver)

    $129.00

    4.7/5 — 61,268 ratings · sold by Amazon.com

    DCD771 drill/driver (1/2 in., 300 UWO) + DCF885 impact driver (1,400 in-lbs) · 2 batteries

    • Two tools and two batteries for the price of DeWalt’s drill kit alone ($129.00 each that day)
    • DeWalt’s 20V MAX battery runs hundreds of DeWalt tools
    • The most-rated kit on this page: 61,268 ratings

    Good to know: a platform pays off from the second tool on. Here the second tool is already in the box.

    See the price on Amazon →
    The most compact

    DeWalt Xtreme 12V MAX DCD701F2

    $174.50

    4.7/5 — 1,981 ratings · third-party seller

    12V MAX brushless · 3/8 in. ratcheting chuck · 2 speeds, 15 clutch settings · 1.9 lbs (tool only)

    • Brushless motor: more runtime, less wear
    • Short body that fits inside cabinets and between studs
    • Two 2.0Ah batteries with charge indicator in the kit

    Good to know: 12V rather than 20V MAX: superb for driving and drilling wood, it doesn’t aim at masonry.

    See the price on Amazon →

    Who should skip it

    If your walls are poured concrete, none of these four is the right tool: you want a hammer drill or a rotary hammer (see hammer drill vs rotary hammer, then our best SDS-plus rotary hammer picks). And if you already own drill batteries from one brand, buy within that brand.

    What really matters when you choose

    The battery platform before the specs

    This is the decision that costs the most if you get it wrong. A battery only works within its own line: three tools from three brands means three chargers and three sets of batteries. If you plan to equip a garage or a workshop, pick the platform first, then the tool.

    “20V MAX” and “18V” are the same thing

    DeWalt, Craftsman and Black+Decker label their packs 20V MAX (the voltage measured with no load); Makita, Ryobi and Milwaukee say 18V (the nominal voltage). Same class of battery, just a different way of counting. Don’t pay more for the bigger number.

    Power ratings don’t compare across brands

    DeWalt and Craftsman rate drills in UWO (unit watts out), other brands in in-lbs of torque, budget brands in N·m measured however they like. For home use, any of these four drives what you’ll need to drive. Treat the number as marketing more than as a buying criterion.

    Brushless or not: it matters if you use it often

    A brushless motor runs cooler, lasts longer and gets more out of each charge. On a drill used four times a year, you won’t notice. On a tool you pick up every week, you will.

    12V or 20V MAX: a question of use, not quality

    12V is lighter and more compact, at its best driving screws and drilling wood. 20V MAX pulls ahead for big holes and tougher materials. A good-brand 12V beats a bargain 20V on most household jobs. For the screws themselves, our Phillips vs Pozidriv vs Torx guide helps you pick bits that won’t strip them.

    Frequently asked questions

    How powerful a cordless drill do I need for home use?

    For drilling wood and drywall, assembling furniture and hanging shelves, a 12V or 20V MAX drill/driver is plenty, like the Black+Decker 20V MAX kit at $64.99 on Amazon.com (October 27, 2026). Higher-power drills target big holes, masonry and long screws, which are rare jobs in a house or an apartment.

    Do I need a hammer drill?

    Only if you drill into concrete or solid brick. For drywall, wood or soft block, the hammer function adds nothing but weight. If your walls are concrete, you need it, or better, a rotary hammer.

    How many batteries should I get?

    Two, if you work more than an hour at a stretch: one charges while the other works. One is enough for occasional furniture assembly. Above all, check that a battery is included: many low-priced listings are tool only.

    Does the brand really matter?

    For the drill itself, less than you’d think for occasional use. For warranty, parts and above all the future of the battery platform, yes, clearly. A discontinued line leaves you with tools and no replacement batteries.

    Keyless chuck or keyed chuck?

    Keyless is the standard today and suits every household job: you change bits by hand, no key. A keyed chuck grips big bits better under heavy load, but it hardly concerns this class of cordless drill anymore.

    Our verdict 🧰

    For a house or an apartment, the Black+Decker 20V MAX BDC120VA100 at $64.99 does the job, and it arrives with everything you need to start: battery, charger and 100 bits and sockets, backed by 5,649 ratings. If you already know you’ll buy more cordless tools, go for the DeWalt 20V MAX DCK240C2 at $129.00: paying $64 more once beats buying batteries three times, and you get an impact driver in the box. And if you work in tight spots, the DeWalt Xtreme 12V DCD701F2 is the nicest of the four to handle. More drilling guides in our Drilling & Driving section.

    See the Black+Decker 20V MAX kit on Amazon →
    Our sources (October 2026): Amazon.com product listings read on October 27, 2026 (ASIN B0079IRIG0, B07KKGXFF5, B00IJ0ALYS, B07TVG85N3) for prices, ratings, rating counts, sellers and listed specs · DeWalt, DCK240C2 combo kit · DeWalt, DCD701F2 12V MAX brushless drill/driver kit. We did not test these drills ourselves and we don’t claim to. Power figures are the manufacturers’ own: they are not measured the same way from one brand to the next, so we present them as claims, not measurements.

    Our tool picks

    The tools we stand behind after comparing manufacturer specs and the prices we check.

    See our recommended tools →